How Many Countries in Africa?

Africa is the world’s second-largest and second-most-populous continent, after Asia. At about 30.3 million km2 (11.7 million square miles), including adjacent islands, it covers 6% of Earth’s total surface area and 20% of its land area. With 1.3 billion people as of 2018, it accounts for about 16% of the world’s human population. The Mediterranean Sea surrounds the continent to the north, the Isthmus of Suez and the Red Sea to the northeast, the Indian Ocean to the southeast and the Atlantic Ocean to the west. The continent includes the island countries of Madagascar, Mauritius, Comoros, Seychelles, and Saint Helena, as well as the semi-autonomous Sudanese region of South Sudan.

How many countries in Africa?

As of 2019, Africa comprises 54 sovereign countries (according to the United Nations.), 9 territories, and 2 de facto independent states with limited or no recognition.

What is the biggest country in Africa?

Algeria is Africa’s largest country by area, and Nigeria is its largest by population.

Atlas (34)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.